Saturday, 22 June 2013

Bobboi Kaigama elected new TUC president

A new TUC president have been elected. With 356 votes, Mr Bobboi Kaigama was announced the winner on Saturday. He defeated Mr Babatunde Ogun of the Petroleum and Natural Gas Senior Staff Association of Nigeria. Ogun got 314 votes in the election monitored by all past presidents of TUC. Mr Augustin Etafo from PENGASSAN emerged as second deputy president, while Mr Bede Opara from Senior Staff of Electricity and Allied Corporation was elected as third deputy president.

The new TUC President, who is the President of Association of Senior Civil Servants of Nigeria, succeeds Peter Esele.
Kaigama in his post election speech, said that the new leadership would work with the government and private sector employers to improve the welfare of workers.

Esele, the outgoing TUC president hoped that the congress would be taken to the next level by the newly elected leaders.
Other members of the new executive include Mr Sunday Salako from the Association of Senior Staff of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institution who was elected unopposed as first deputy president.

President Goodluck Jonathan has congratulated Kaigama of on his election. Jonathan hoped that Kaigama and his new team at the helm of the TUC will fulfil this commitment and enhance cordial industrial relations in Nigeria in furtherance of the present administration’s agenda for national transformation.

No comments:

Post a Comment